Go Away.
June 27, 2009, 11:10 am
Filed under: film, movies, reviews | Tags: , , ,

away we go

Unlike the rest of America, I really didn’t feel like wasting 9 dollars on a Transformers sequel that was littered with lukewarm reviews. I even had one person go out of his way to convince me it was the worst movie he’s ever seen. Most of the time, I prefer to judge movies for myself, but I’m absolutely certain I will eventually come across this movie in the future.

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s paying for a movie, and feeling like I wasted a good portion of my life afterwards.

I’ve put off Away We Go for a couple weeks, but I finally got the chance to see it. Both John Krasinski and Maya Rudolph played characters we wouldn’t expect to see them play. They were quirky, but vastly different from The Office‘s Jim Halpert and the eccentric characters played by Rudolph in SNL. Rudolph’s performance, especially, was truly genuine. After seeing the trailer, I wasn’t ready to believe they were the best actors to cast, as the chemistry didn’t really seem to be there. Turns out I was wrong (who would’ve thunk?).

Supporting (and unexpected) performances by Allison Janney, Maggie Gyllenhaal, and Jeff Daniels put this one over the top for me. Definitely three of my personal favorites.

The film follows a couple as they desperately try to find their calling and a new home to bring in their newborn. In the process, they are shown the failures and hardships involved with relationships and families. One of the best films of the year, for sure. And ten times more uplifting than director Sam Mendes’ Revolutionary Road.

– JD

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I saw it last night. I liked it. It has more action in it than the first one. It’s more interesting, parts were funny and i can say it was entertaining. You being from Cali. you might not want to pay 10 bucks for the ticket but I’d say go… reviews aren’t always what they’re cracked up to be.

Comment by sweetiegirlz

i’ll see it eventually. i’m sure it’s not as bad as some are making it out to be. here’s hoping there’s more to it than some spiffy special effects.

Comment by jdiaz




Leave a Reply

