Double Shot At Love.
March 20, 2009, 3:23 am
Filed under: film, movies, popular culture, reviews | Tags: , , ,

adventurecast

it's love, man

A long and arduous week deserves some comedic brilliance. Luckily for me, I caught an advanced screening of Adventureland, followed by the midnight showing of I Love You, Man — two movies I had eagerly anticipated. I went in with high hopes, and left with zero disappointment.

Adventureland

Two things are certain: Bill Hader and Kristin Wiig are absolute scene stealers, and Michael Cera was dressed as some dude named Jesse Eisenberg. It seems Hollywood is taking the standard Apatow formula and running with it. But although quirky, it had a certain level of somberness to it to balance things out.

The characters had more depth to them than your average summer fling movie, which made it more appealing to me. And to top it all off, the chemistry between Kristin Stewart and the slightly awkward Jesse Eisenberg was much more believable than her performance with Edward Cullen (yeah, I said it).

I Love You, Man

I don’t remember laughing so hard since seeing Sarah Marshall for the first time. I knew it was amazing once they snuck in a Lost reference. That movie was calling to me from the beginning. After its inevitable success, I’m predicting about four more Paul Rudd/Jason Segel films within the next two years. And you won’t be hearing any complaints from anyone. Unless of course, Rashida Jones isn’t cast. Seriously, she’s gorgeous.

I’m glad they decided to leave all the best scenes off the trailer. So many quotables, so many great lines — it’ll probably be a while before it starts getting obnoxious.

– JD

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am glad this didn’t dissapoint. Ill save adventure land for a rental and ill take the girlfriend to see I love you man. She eats Judd Apatow humor up. I didn’t dig Forgetting Sarah Marshall but I’m getting burnt out by Seth Rogan comedies and could use a change of pace lol. Great post and blog you have here. I’ll visit frequently 🙂

Comment by cello85




Leave a Reply

