My Strange Love For Magazines.
January 25, 2009, 2:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

yeah alba rooks

I knew I was interested in graphic design from a very early age. A clear sign of this was the fact that magazines always fascinated me. I know it’s exactly what they teach you not to do as a child, but I judged everything by its cover. The color and layout of these magazines are what grabbed my attention the most. And the ones that looked the best were the ones I asked my mom to buy. My favorite as a child was MAD magazine. Undoubtedly, I was more interested in their structure than their “articles”.

When I was in high school, I was the subscriber of three different periodicals, each chosen carefully according to my interests. SPIN (music), GQ (lifestyle), and SLAM (basketball) magazines were mailed to my house on a regular basis. By the way, if you ever want to know a lot about a person, check their magazine subscriptions. Anywho, as soon as I left home for college, those magazines mysteriously stopped coming. Maybe it wasn’t such a mystery — my mom always did consider them a waste of money.

It was kind of weird. Even if I knew I wouldn’t get a chance to read them, I still wanted to have them around. They were always the perfect source of inspiration and the best way to kill time. I’ve always convinced myself that working with magazines in some form, whether it be in publishing, writing, photography, etc. would be an awesome gig. And I still believe that, but it’s not exactly something I’ve set my sights on.

I guess what I’m trying to say is I miss those magazines. And I want them back.

– JD

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

