Globes.

april wheeler

I have been momentarily consumed in the world of film. It’s that time of year, I guess. Nowadays, the Golden Globes, Oscar’s, etc. are all pretty meaningless. They’re simply used as a marketing tool. It’s the same actors and types of movies that get the awards every year — deservedly so, sometimes. But many times, the best performances get overlooked. Comedies, for example, rarely get any love in these shows. Juno is the closest thing you’ll see to being award-show worthy. But this year? It’s hard to argue with the winners.

After watching Revolutionary Road a couple days ago, the movie had a lasting affect on me. On the surface, it didn’t blow me away. If I had to describe it in one word, depressing would be most suitable. I felt like never watching another movie again. Seriously, I can’t really explain it, but it made me want to end all the relationships I have with people. What ever happened to those feel-good movies? What ever happened to happy endings? Putting all that aside, the acting in the film was at the highest level. Some of the most intense/emotional scenes I’ve seen. Kate deserved those Globes.

P.S. Slumdog deserves everything it gets. I’m tired.

– JD

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

